skip navigation


By OJLL PR, 08/09/22, 9:15AM EDT


The Ontario Junior Lacrosse League is pleased to announce the finalists for each end of season award for the 2022 season. The finalists for the Most Valuable Player, Outstanding Defensive Player, Rookie of the Year, Most Sportsmanlike Player, Coaching Staff of the Year, Most Valuable Goal Keeper, Most Outstanding Player, and Transition Player of the Year were announced on social media following the OJLL Final.

The winners will be announced during the Whitby Warriors vs. Toronto Beaches game at the Minto Cup on Wednesday August 24, 2022 at 8pm. All awards were voted on prior to the start of the 2022 playoffs and were based on regular season statistics and performances.

The Bobby Allan Award

Scoring Champion

Finlay Thomson, Mimico Mountaineers

52 Goals, 72 Assists, 124 Points

The Robert Melville Memorial Award

Lowest Goals Against Average

Aden Walsh and Sam Haines, Oakville Buzz

The Green Gael Award, in Memory of Dennis McIntosh

Most Valuable Player

  • Willem Firth, Toronto Beaches
  • Finlay Thomson, Mimico Mountaineers
  • Adam Poitras, Whitby Warriors


The John “Gus” McCauley Memorial Reward

Outstanding Defensive Player

  • Jack Follows, Oakville Buzz
  • Josh Fairey, Toronto Beaches
  • Scott Reed, Whitby Warriors


The Joe Nieuwendyk Award

Rookie of the Year

  • Willem Firth, Toronto Beaches
  • DJ Clarke, Peterborough Lakers
  • Jameson Bucktooth, Orangeville Northmen


The Gaylord Powless Memorial Award

Most Sportsmanlike Player

  • Will Sheehan, Oakville Buzz
  • Jackson Webster, St. Catharines Athletics
  • Ethan Harkins, Brampton Excelsiors


The Jim Bishop Memorial Award

Coaching Staff of the Year

  • Whitby Warriors
  • Toronto Beaches
  • St. Catharines Athletics


The Sanderson Memorial Award, In Memory of Chris & Ryan

Most Valuable Goal Keeper

  • Will Johnston Toronto Beaches
  • Aden Walsh Oakville Buzz
  • Chris Origlieri Orangeville Northmen


The Jim Veltman Award

Most Outstanding Player

  • Brock Haley, Whitby Warriors
  • Willem Firth, Toronto Beaches
  • Justin Sykes, Mimico Mountaineers


The Terry Sanderson Memorial Award

Transition Player of the Year

  • Justin Sykes, Mimico Mountaineers
  • Keaton Zavitz, St. Catharines Atthletics
  • Owen Tapper, Whitby Warriors