skip navigation


By OJLL PR, 08/04/22, 4:45PM EDT


At one point on Wednesday night the Whitby Warriors led the Toronto Beaches 5-1 in the second game of the OJLL Finals. Holding off a second period comeback, the Warriors held on, scoring four in the third, to win the game 11-9 and secure their first Iroquois Trophy since 2013. 

Brock Haley scored twenty-two seconds after Willem Firth opened the scoring. Haley would have three points in a 3-1 Whitby first period. 

The lead stretched to 5-1 six minutes into the second when Lucas Littlejohn scored in transition. Toronto would use a three goal run to come within one goal before another pair of goals from Whitby, including Haley’s third. Firth would score twenty-eight seconds later, kickstarting a four goal stretch in which he had three points. The Beaches carried an 8-7 lead into the third period. 

Haley’s big night continued when he opened the third with a power play goal, his thirtieth of the playoffs. Whitby outscored Toronto 4-1 in the third to win 11-9. Following the game, Commissioner Mark Grimes presented the Iroquois Trophy to Captain Adam Poitras, who was also named playoff MVP with fifty-four points in ten games (23 goals, 31 assists), including a goal and assist on Wednesday. 

Brock Haley finished the game with seven points (5 goals, 2 assists) giving him fifty-four in the postseason (31 goals, 24 assists). Riley Knox had four assists. 

Willem Firth led the Beaches with seven points (2 goals, 5 assists). He finished third in OJLL playoff points with forty-four in eleven games (21 goals, 23 assists). Nathan Pouliot and Matthew Collison also scored a pair.  

Whitby finishes the OJLL season 15-1 on home floor (regular season and playoffs combined). 

Both teams will now enjoy just over a two week break before competing in the Minto Cup at the CAA Centre in Brampton from August 22nd through the 29th. Tickets are now available, including a $100 full tournament pass, providing access to every game. For more information, or to purchase, visit