skip navigation


By OJLL PR, 06/14/22, 4:15PM EDT


The Ontario Junior Lacrosse League (OJLL) is excited to announce that the Minto Cup (@TheMintoCup) will return to the CAA Centre in 2022. It’s the first time the national junior lacrosse championship will be held since 2019 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. 

“We couldn’t be more excited for the opportunity to host the Minto Cup this year,” said OJLL Commissioner Mark Grimes. “It has been a long road back for our athletes and fans but Ontario is ready to defend the Minto Cup at home — and we can’t think of a better place to do it than in the great lacrosse City of Brampton.”

The Minto Cup will be staged in Brampton from August 22 to August 29, 2022 immediately following the Founders Cup, the National Junior B Lacrosse Championship of Canada, that is also set to take place in the historic lacrosse hotbed. 

“The City of Brampton is excited to welcome the National Junior A Lacrosse Championship of Canada to Brampton from August 22 to 29 at the CAA Centre,” said Brampton Mayor Patrick Brown. “Lacrosse is Canada’s national sport, and I look forward to seeing our provincial teams come together to compete. Sport has the power to bring people together. Come out to show your support to these talented athletes and stay to explore all that the great city of Brampton has to offer!”

The Ontario Junior Lacrosse League is the official host of the 2022 Minto Cup. Ontario will be represented by the Ontario champion and finalist.

For more information on the 2022 Minto Cup, please visit or follow @TheMintoCup on Twitter and Instagram.


The Ontario Junior Lacrosse League (OJLL), established in 1933, is a Canadian men’s box lacrosse league that has operated under the Ontario Lacrosse Association (OLA) since the 1800s. The league, comprising 11 teams located in Ontario, is the top provider of talent to the National Lacrosse League (NLL), and is considered the most competitive junior men’s box lacrosse league in the world.


The Minto Cup is the national junior men's lacrosse championship of Canada. It was donated in 1901 by the Governor-General, Lord Minto and is competed for annually by the Junior A provincial champions of Alberta (RMLL), British Columbia (BCJALL), and Ontario (OJLL).